Good Teachers and Great Experiences

As my Freshman year comes to an end, I can’t help but reflect on every opportunity I’ve been given at my junior college. Eastern Arizona College was not my first choice of school post-senior year of high school, so I have my mom to thank for encouraging me to look past the small town atmosphere. It wasn’t too hard adjusting to Safford, Arizona, frankly because I’ve lived in a small town my entire life, but because I didn’t go off to a university like I had originally planned to do, I felt that the “big school” experience was stolen away from me. After the first week though, this thought was no longer important.

Professor Glen Cashetta would go on to become one of the best professors I’ve had, and not just because he was the only professor I had that first semester at EAC. Cashetta pushed us. He obviously didn’t expect us to be perfect editors the first time we jumped into Avid Media Composer or Pro Tools, but he did expect our best work; to give anything less was detrimental to our learning. And there was no way I would let any opportunity for learning go to waste.

Overall, I’m going to miss having his classes after I get my degree in December 2017, but because of his help and determination to see us become the best film editors we can possibly be, I have no doubt I will be able to fit right into a university level of film producing.

Some of the classes I’ve completed, all of which were done with professional software, include:

-Video Color Correct

-Audio Engineering

-Documentary Video Production

-Video/Audio Editing I & II

-Media Practicum I & II

-Scriptwriting (both co curricular and extra curricular)

Leave a Reply

