Phoenix Film Festival (Problems)

So, this last semester I had planned on entering a short film and script into the Phoenix Film Festival, but quickly decided to hold off until next year– too much to do in only a few months. This would have been my first entry into a festival, so I really don’t know how to go about it. I suppose trial and error will come into play soon enough.

Anyways, I started rewriting my script last night and ended up almost deleting the entire thing due to frustration with dialogue. It’s easy to imagine how natural a conversation should go, but writing it out on paper is so much different! Whenever I thought I had it, I would read it out loud and groan. Is there any way to make conversations between characters not so… staged…?  I’ll have to ask Aaron about it in our next Masterclass lesson.

I think any good actor or actress can pull off even the most staged conversation in a way that feels natural, but unfortunately, I’m limited to the actors I have access to. Instead of them coming to me to ask to be in the film, I’m having to recruit and re-recruit people, and frankly, none seem die hard enthusiastic to be included in any project. (Only a few days ago, my pal David who is filming his Capstone had almost all of his actresses cancel out on him last minute. Talk about sucks.) Because I’m a poor college student, I don’t really have the funds to provide pay for my actors, so I’m still trying to find a way to motivate people to come to casting auditions and participate. Any ideas for this would be super beneficial.

Lastly, I think one of the largest problems I have on any level of scriptwriting and filmmaking is coming up with a good, solid title for the film. Should it be more suspicious and secretive as in “The Silence of Innocence”, or more straightforward like, “The Day Daniel Kent was Kidnapped”? What’s too long? What’s too short? What catches peoples’ eyes? What doesn’t? Yeah, title-block is definitely a syndrome for writers.

Hopefully I’ll have this all sorted out before summer so I can start officially filming! If you hadn’t already guessed by my title ideas, this project is about a boy who is kidnapped, but not in the cliche way other stories might make it. I’ll share more about it later on, but for now I’ll retire back to my work.

Also, a huge thank you to my new followers of this blog! Love getting emails and notifications from you!

 

-Savannah Griffin

2 thoughts on “Phoenix Film Festival (Problems)

  1. I think this is something that cannot be rushed. Take time to let it sit & simmer then pick it back up to see if the actors still speak the same to you & your audience. Also, don’t forget High School performing arts programs have lots of great and eager actors/actresses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

